kids

trinikid

“An Iraqui girl in an orphanage – missing her mother, so she drew her and fell asleep inside her” – Trinikid

It is no secret that I’ve been with a huge winter blues since this year begins. I found myself some kind lost and afraid. Those feelings started in Christmas, as a mixture of feelings between my growing maternal instinct, missing that childish joy of Christmas and the shocking news on TV about what kids asked Santa for Christmas: a job for my parents because they are sad.
I live in a country full of corrupt politicians, bankers and all kind of thieves, but not those who steal out of necessity but of those who steal for pleasure, for power. They have not only stolen the money of working people but also the illusion of children.

by Turkish Berk Öztürk

Drawing by Turkish Berk Öztürk.

I remember when we were kids and my father took us to see Santa. He was surrounded by bags of toys and he kindly asked us to pick one of the gifts under the condition that we would have done well that year. I remember the excitement and innocence of that magic. How can someone steal that to a child? How come a child speaks and understands more about a global crisis than his own dreams and fantasies?
And then I saw on facebook the image of that little Iraqui girl and … “I just wanted to draw my mum next to yours and lie inside her, by your side. Open my arms and offer you a warm hug and a kiss, and promise you that everything would be ok “…

pica pica

I told you, maternal instinct must be killing me nowadays, but I give a damn to all those thieves of dreams and childhood innocence!! I want our children to believe in Magic again!

This entry was posted in Art Therapy, Drawings, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment